» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:25 am

» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

Share | 

Cereus peruvianus not growing

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Cereoid

Number of posts : 137
Registration date : 2013-04-04

PostSubject: Cereus peruvianus not growing   Fri Dec 13, 2013 8:03 pm

My Cereus peruvianus will not grow. It is clearly healthy enough because it keeps flowering, almost never being devoid of buds in the warmer months. It is a cutting of a mature plant, just over 1 m high in a very large plastic pot. The apical meristem is not dead because last growing season it did grow about 10 cm, very fast, but then stopped again for more flowering.

I figure that this would seem like a good thing to many people, but I want the plant to grow bigger, not just sit there flowering when there are no other plants around to pollinate with! I do have other species of Cereus, one of which is skyrocketing and another recent introduction that also has buds but it is too new to tell what it is doing yet.

Is there some special care that I need to give it to make it grow? Does anyone else have this "problem"?
Back to top Go down
rickyscactus

Number of posts : 118
Registration date : 2013-08-22

PostSubject: Re: Cereus peruvianus not growing   Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:10 pm

I have the same Cereus Peruvianus that i have had for the last 3 year, that does not grow, from cutting.
First i had it in a pot, it flowered but did not grow,  so i put it in a larger pot after it had grown roots.