HomeGalleryFAQRegisterLog in
Latest topics
» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

» Hi from Melbourne
by jennym Mon May 29, 2017 6:38 pm

» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:19 am

Share | 

fruit bats and gnats

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
peter olsen

Number of posts : 17
Registration date : 2014-04-17

PostSubject: fruit bats and gnats   Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:27 am

g.day all, in my town bairnsdale vic, we have apron, 72.000 fruit bats,the locals are carring on about and want them moved, they cause a lot of damage, and stink, a friend of mine had a lot of his plants and fruit trees wrecked plus others. all so in there thousands are gnats, i did not know what they ere till i joind this forum and read about pest etc, once i realise my hot house was full of them, i went on the war path, checked out google, you tube etc, what i found was the best way to reduce numbers was this yellow sticky card board stuff from buntings, i cut it in small squares, and stuck it on my name tags plus hung bits up here and every where, another clue i found was to get 2 liter coke bottles and cut the top off, turn it up side down and put back in the bottle, run tape around the join, and tip about 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar in them and i placed these here and they amongst my cactus , results 100,s of them drowned, there is no way i can get rid of them, as the dam things are every where her,so i just to live it, if it was not for this forum, i believe all or most of my cactus would be lost, thanks to all members that put posts i,ve learnt so much in just a short time, peter olsen vic....