HomeGalleryFAQRegisterLog in
Latest topics
» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:56 am

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

» Hi from Melbourne
by jennym Mon May 29, 2017 6:38 pm

Share | 

Red epidermis

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
greenhouse

Number of posts : 3
Location : just arrived in australia,but was a big collecter in the uk
Registration date : 2014-10-25

PostSubject: Red epidermis   Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:17 am

Hi out there this is Greenhouse.
  I've been growing Cactus for over 20 years in the UK,I now live in Australia and trying to start a new collection, and I've come across something I've never encountered before, a lot of the plants I've acquired have red epidermis, were as the same plants are green in the UK except those that are naturally brown. What I'm trying to find out is what affect this has on growth and flowering.
Back to top Go down
SneakyCuttlefish

Number of posts : 705
Registration date : 2012-12-11

PostSubject: Re: Red epidermis   Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:36 am

High greenhouse! Welcome to the forum and welcome to Australia! Red skin colouration can have a few causes and in some cases is a genetic trait. Gymnocalicium damsii is one such cactus that when dormant turns a red colour and when actively growing is a green colour. Are you able to post a picture?

PostSubject: Re: Red epidermis   Tue Aug 25, 2015 3:54 am

Hi SneakyCuttefish