» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:25 am

» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

Share | 

Huernia hernia

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
WoodDragon

Number of posts : 118
Registration date : 2008-06-12

PostSubject: Huernia hernia   Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:24 pm

Hey me hearties.

I received a rooted Huernia hislopii cutting several months ago which I potted, as I have with all my of staps, in a commercial cactus/succulent mix. It was a pink-grey when I received it, but it greened-up fairly quickly and seemed to be doing well.

With spring it started to gain a pinkish cast again, but I didn't worry about it as it seemed to be the increasing amount of sun that caused it. I've been keeping it fairly dry too, but about a week ago I noticed that it looked a bit sickly and yesterday I moved some of the potting mix to see that the stem was a lemon yellow below soil level. It seemed a bit loose too, and with a gentle tug it came up, dead roots and rotten base and all. I have had a bugger of a time with fungus gnats, and I had quite a few coming out of the pot, even though the mix is quite dry.