» Romanian Online Journal - Xerophilia
by eduart Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:42 am

» Problem with cacti
by nzivanovic Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:58 pm

» Free continual trading thread
by chris86 Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

» Nooker gone aussie
by Jackdaripper Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:40 am

» Newbie here, received a few succulents as a gift. Would love some help identifying them so I can research how to care for them!
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:08 am

» What is it?
by SneakyCuttlefish Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:07 am

Share | 

Dealing with rot

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Olga
Calm and Collected

Number of posts : 229
Registration date : 2009-11-08

PostSubject: Dealing with rot   Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:14 pm

I purchased some pachanoi the other week, including one not so healthy plant. I saw a small spot of rot on one pot but it was a two plants with five branches in total so I decided to give it a go anyway.
It was badly root bound when I tried to repot it so the roots got quite a beating as I divided it into two plants, I then left it for a week and gave them a dose of anti-rot. Problem is the rot (which is a small spot) seems to have gotten worse. It has not spread, but has deepened in colour (brown) and softened more, now the second plant has developed a small spot.
So how long do you usually leave a plant before giving it a chop? I may have fertilised it too early but it looked like it desperately needed food *sigh* and I have not actually dealt with this disease before. I'm not sure when the panic should set it, the main problem is one which has rot at the tip, which I guess I can cut off
Back to top Go down
mutant
Calm and Collected

Number of posts : 286
Registration date : 2010-01-10

PostSubject: Re: Dealing with rot   Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:10 pm

You got to give us a photo, but I think I know what you mean,,,